Tissue Box

On a recent visit to Hobbycraft I purchased a paper mache box for decorating purposes.

Hobbycraft Paper Mache Business Card Box
It seems they have stopped doing the actual box I bought, but this is the type of thing.
Perfect for someone who ‘never leaves things as they are…’

I painted the inside white and the outside a turquioise, with acrylic paint.

2015-11-07 10.21.47

I left this to dry…

Now for the decorating I decided on a floral pattern using little wooden cut outs (these are available everywhere but try The Works or Poundland )to add interest.

As you can see the top has the hole for grabbing tissues already cut.

To paint the flowers I did a rough outline of a large flower and painted it pink. I did one on the top and a couple around the sides of the box – all roughly the same shape and then left to dry.

I added some darker pink to give the idea of petals and then with a felt tip pen added a little more definition.

I painted the stuck on bird and the bird cage motif in the same colours.The actual cage in gold paint.

Added a few leaves and that is it.
A rather over the top tissue box.

Back soon, Rosie

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tissue Box

  1. lilymphotography says:

    Can you make me one 🙂 ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

