Tea & Buns

So many lovely friends gave me ‘housewarming gifts’ and one gift was a Next gift voucher, thanks Jo & E.
‘Next’ do some lovely homewares and I chose a vase.
It seemed a good idea, because at the start of the renovations we were living in rather a grotty home with what seemed, endless work and were in reality a long way from having vases of flowers …but I’ve always thought reality rather over-rated and a bunch of flowers brightens any room doesn’t it?

Okay so other folk might say “it’s not worth it dear, the room is going to be full of brick dust this weekend” but that’s a glass half empty attitude… mine is always half full!

20160206_112108

 

Well, I admit it was quite a crazy vase

I’m afraid I didn’t take a picture of mine as a vase and that is partly why it was not left as it was!

It was so tall that it kind of looked ridiculous…..most flowers were too short, you can’t have gladioli or sunflowers everytime.

So, I decided that it would make a quirky lampbase – not an original thought I know…
Luckily for me my husband positively embraced this idea (obviously not a fan of the vase either).

I ordered a light fitting..


and my husband whisked away the vase to the shed, he filled the vase with plaster to weight it and when dry brought it in for me to paint the ‘tea’

2016-01-27 14.35.34

Looks a bit like frothy coffee but this gives the general idea

So now for the shade, as I’ve said whilst working in a craft shop I learned how to make a lampshade, there are also plenty of kits around and whilst I have made my own shades using these before – here’s a ‘book’shade, which has been covered using wrapping paper and made from a kit
(you can get these from all good craft shops as well as online of course).

2016-01-27 14.52.09

It’s just sitting on the books

I decided to buy my shade for this new lamp, originally thinking as the base is quite interesting; that the shade could be left plain.

Well, that idea was soon changed.

I was feeling rather fed up and remembered something about tea changing the world from an old favourite story “The Wind in the Willows” by Kenneth Grahame

The quote is “(Come along inside) We’ll see if tea and buns can make the world a better place” seems like quite a good idea!
So that was my inspiration and even though I love the characters from the book so much I decided to just do a tea theme.
If you’re more sensible than me you could trace an image and use that, I went freehand – it’s a bit wonky but I don’t mind that.

The fabric on the shade is quite silky so I drew on in pencil first and then went over the pencil lines with a clear sealer Pebeo Gutta 20ml for Silk Painting (it’s available from craft stores or online easily).
It stops the paint from ‘bleeding’ along the fabric. I wrote the quote in pencil and just painted over with the transparent sealer to stop it fading.

I used pencil (quite a soft pencil 4B), water colour paints and crayons for my design. There was no need to ‘fix’ the image as I don’t plan on washing the lampshade in a washing machine.
But there are loads of different fabric paints, colouring pencils, felt pens available if you fancy decorating fabric, for cushions or clothes or tableclothes and napkins.
A fun idea at a party or wedding is to get guests to sign a cloth – fabric felt pens are great for this, you just use a warm iron to fix!
In the past people did this and then stitched over the signatures – wonderful idea and a lovely heirloom but a quick iron works nowadays.

Family Tablecloth -- have everyone in the family sign a tablecloth at Thanksgiving, and embroider over their signatures. Add to it over the years.:

I usually use Pebeo products but there are plenty of others.

So here’s a few photos of my lamp.

 

 

it’s sitting on a vintage Singer sewing machine with treadle (incase you were wondering).

 

Bye for now,
Rosie

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

