Ceiling Rose

Whilst progressing with our new home renovation and the rewiring we have  a new light fitting which is smaller than the one we had – and painted around so recently!
My husband said if he cut a circle of hardboard could I decorate it as a ceiling rose to hide the unslightly bits… well this is just my favourite kind of question, of course I would!

I was presented with a disc about the size of small plate and ready painted with white emulsion.

I decided that as everything is floral in my new bedroom that I would carry on the theme, but not copy the exact designs already used.
So using the trusty Sharpie pens I started to draw out my design.

2015-12-30 15.31.46

The pens didn’t really go on that well so I added some more colour with acrylic paint. I had a little set which I had seen for just a few pence in Hobbycraft clearance shelves.

2015-12-30 15.49.51

I kept to a very strict palette to keep a little continuity but just randomly drew the flowers – no great botanical detail here, just made up blooms.

2015-12-31 15.02.46

Once I’d gone all around the disc I started to add paint for more definition. Then the pens came out again and I found that although they wouldn’t draw a line very well they were happy to stipple. So with this technique I went around the leaves and then with a pale green dotted or stippled the entire background.

This is it in situ….

2016-01-03 12.06.15

The lampshade I had sadly got rather battered… but I have had a go at renovation…. details on that to follow soon,
Rosie.

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

