Bookcase

I’m sure lots of you have had the Ikea CD/DVD/Book tower in your home at sometime over the recent past. We had a couple in my daughters room for years. When she went to Uni and took her DVDs in a folder and had already loaded all her CDs onto an Ipod it seemed these shelves might be redundant.
On our move around the corner they found themselves in the garage and there they stayed.

On completion of my nice new bedroom and being told I was welcome to decorate as eccentrically as I liked, (and yes he has regretted that statement!) I decided that I needed books in my bedroom again.
I love my books, (many moons ago some silly doctor informed my mother that they harbour dust – and, as she would try anything to help ease my asthma … she sold a few hundred of my books, so many Enid Blyton stories went to new homes).
But the collection of books has grown again (not quite so many by Enid Blyton though).
Some books are definately old friends, some I’ve read and read over again.
Some are gifts too precious to lose and some (quite a few actually) are my Persephone‘s.
Most people who know me, know that I am totally in love with the shop Persephone and their beautifully bound books. The paper quality is so good it makes them incredibly enjoyable to read, the stories are from another time and the non-fiction books are all incredibly interesting, I know, I know I love them too much.
My favourites are…. no wait, I like too many, we’ll be here all day.
Just take a trip to Holborn one day (I’ll come too!).Oh and these aren’t going in the bedroom, they have pride of place in the sitting room.2016-03-05 11.03.02.jpg

So, I’ve decided that two of these shelf towers would hold enough novels for the bedroom. There’s a space for them. All good.
Only thing is they are rather plain. So I think the vast quantities of sticky fabric I’ve been buying from The Work’s can now be used to great effect!.

First things first, a quick rub down with sandpaper to give a key…

2016-02-12 10.27.01

Now the inside – take all those little silver pins out first though!

Once it had been lightly sanded, I painted the inside with gold acylic paint. Doesn’t show up much so I’ll show you the finished item at the end.

Next I thought I’d cover the shelves to get practise in using this sticky fabric.

Lovely… if I do say so myself…
Ok all the shelves covered… I may not need them all for books but decided to do them, incase I change my mind at a later date as to what I use the shelves for – it has been known!

I covered the shelves in one colour (well mostly – some have three, just to be economical) but decided to cut the sheets into strips so my shelves will be stripey.

Nearly done, just need to cover the middle section, top and bottom plinth

2016-02-12 17.46.29

and now it’s time to clear up…you can see the mess in this shot… plenty more around the room though!

Just to load them up now…

Well, that’s me happy! If you like the little birdie dressing gown hooks they are probably from Sass & Belle they do some lovely things and especially lots of bird themed items which are a strong feature in my bedroom design (good job I don’t live in Wales!) not sure if they still do these though.
The little vase of artificial peonies is from Next. Can’t remember where the little bird night-light holder came from, he brightens a corner nicely though.

Back soon with more ‘never leave things as they are’ projects soon,

Rosie

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bookcase

  1. Pingback: Mini chest of drawers | rosiesartsandcrafts

  2. Pingback: Découpaged mirror & tray. Book shelves to compliment! | rosiesartsandcrafts

Leave a Reply

