Napkins

Following on from my table runner make , I had a little dinner party and thought it such a shame that I did not have some napkins to match my table runner.

They do sell beautiful napkins in Zara Home but I don’t think they quite come under my arts and craft regime…. so I got some plain white napkins (I actually already had them, mine are Dorma Linen/cotton mix from Dunelm but I also have some lovely ones from Ikea, neither were really  expensive and therefore worth a risk at decorating!)

I recently popped in my local Tesco and, accidentally, walked down the aisle with pens and happened to spot these Sharpie Fabric Markers.

The colours are quite bright! There are plenty of fabric paints and markers available, I’d never used Sharpie’s range but I was really impressed. It really is a felt pen like tip but with a brush tip also so you can do fine drawing and stippling if you like that style and/or a brush for a softer shading technique.

I looked at the tea-cloth table runner and chose flowers to copy. I did mine freehand, I did not mind if they were not exact copies. If you’re not happy with freehand drawing you could trace the pattern on or use transfer paper which gives you the ability to add pictures from photos or prints onto fabric. (I’ve given you a links to these products – but there are plenty of suppliers around).

Anyway here is what I did to my plain white napkins:-
Napkin 1.
2016-04-26 19.37.01This is the flower I decided to copy.

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Napkin 2.
2016-04-27 17.22.46.jpg    Chosen flower on the tea-towel table runner.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Napkin 3.
2016-04-27 18.37.57 Image on the tea-cloth

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

and finally, Napkin 4.
2016-04-26 20.00.16 This is the flower on the tea-cloth and here’s my final drawing:-

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So here’s a pic of all four – not the greatest photographic image… but gives you the idea.

2016-04-27 20.12.08Maybe napkin rings next…..need to get my thinking cap on!

Back soon,
Rosie

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Napkins

  1. Pingback: Poems on plates & napkins | rosiesartsandcrafts

  2. Pingback: Painted Blouse | rosiesartsandcrafts

  3. Pingback: Paint your own Tea-Towels | rosiesartsandcrafts

Leave a Reply

