Really really mini drawers…

Now I know I have painted and decorated a couple of sets of drawers in previous blogs, but I really, really like drawers! Everything has a place and can be found again!

I used to use a set of Ikea drawers on top of my bedroom  chest of drawers which held all my jewellery and cosmetics.

Now I’m going to have a proper little dressing table in the form of an old school room desk, at the moment it is too low – can’t sit at it with a normal chair, I’m waiting for the shed to be finished which will be a workshop and any little jobs such as extending legs on a desk will be done by the resident handy-man. Hoping that will be some day real soon.

So, while I’m waiting I am creating storage containers, the nine drawers I recently blogged about will hold necklaces but I hadn’t found the perfect earring container (yes, I do have a lot of jewellery!)

A trip to one of my favourite shops The Works during my lunchbreak may have given me the exact right earring storage drawers!

 

I decided to stick them together – I used PVA glue, put it on both sides – let it get tacky then pushed them together, I put them on the book shelf over night – the books rammed tight to help them stick.
2016-04-19 17.59.30

Now to decorate – they are really quite tiny   2016-05-01 11.58.12

If you saw my blog about the heart shaped tray you’ll already know that I was given some simply marvellous papers for my birthday, I decided these would be good to use for this project too. I’ve just notice the designer of these gorgeous designs has a blog, link here if you are interested.

I started to plan how I would decorate the drawers – and found this pretty sheet of a gilt bird, simply too nice to cut up really… but I thought if I use the image for the fronts of the drawers I could keep the ‘picture’ albeit in six pieces. This was a bit tricky… the pictures show how I did it:-
2016-05-01 11.58.52

2016-05-01 12.02.12

2016-05-01 12.03.18

2016-05-01 12.05.29

2016-05-01 12.05.37

2016-05-01 15.23.12

2016-05-01 15.24.45

2016-05-01 15.25.53

Oh, I painted the draw pull with a gold pen…2016-05-01 12.16.46

I actually painted around the edges of the drawers and on the sides of the whole thing too… these pens are very paint like, I really like to use them, especially as they write on just about anything.

Then I cut up loads more of the papers and stuck them to the top with PVA again … two sections of the pink/gold bird paper again on the sides, lined the inside of the drawers with a square of green felt and they were done!
Again the pictures tell the tale,  if you think I’ve left anything out just ask!

And this is the finished product, I really like them and think I’ll be able to find my earrings again!

Bye for now

Rosie

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Really really mini drawers…

  1. Pingback: Time for tea…. | rosiesartsandcrafts

  2. Pingback: Mini-drawer Tower | rosiesartsandcrafts

  3. Pingback: Dragonfly Drawers | rosiesartsandcrafts

Leave a Reply

