Changing my mind…

Surely one can never have enough handy little boxes or sets of drawers… can one?

Sometime ago I purchased these drawers from that old favourite The Works, hope you saw that they featured me in their own blog?

I decided to use some inks to colour these… as paint is quite thick and sometimes makes it tricky to open the drawers. Also the colours are very intense.I used these Windsor and Newton inks.

You can buy these inks in lots of places, I got mine in Cass Arts (a set of them at a very good price!). They are really nice to paint with and it is almost a waste of such lovely ink to use in this way, I just wanted to see if the colours would keep their vibrancy on wood.

Drawers green, then the framework of the drawers – the purple came out quite pinky…

2016-03-13 16.37.09

Now to decorate, I added simple daisy type flowers around the side, on the top and on the front.

Lived with them for a few weeks and then decided that I didn’t like the flowers, the pink and green inks were starting to come through the white acrylic paint. So I gave them another coat of white paint. But, still it came through….
So, I decided to change it all, I rubbed down the flowers and picked off the white paint with a craft knife, and painted the whole of the outside with black acrylic paint!
Then started to do a very simple decoration with a new product I found in Poundland (they’ve started quite a good range of craft products there!)

I let the gold dry over night and then added a bit of bling…

 

Not sure if I prefer this design or not… oh well, nothing is permanent!
I notice that you can see the impression of the daisies underneath the black paint. Think that’s given me an idea for a future project.
So, tonight I changed them again – they have definately lost the new look now! I’ve edged the drawers with the Pentel Gold pen, and coloured the drawer pulls too, and then stuck pretty papers on them, got the papers from Poundland! Usually so expensive but, well, you¬† know how much these were!
Think I’ll keep them like this …

They look like this now! I did it in the same way as before – stuck on with PVA and painted over the whole thing with PVA too.

Well, back soon

Rosie

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

