Découpaged mirror & tray. Book shelves to compliment!

A small mirror bought a few years back from Tesco has had a few changes, it’s latest was a covering with sticky fabric.
Recently though, I decided that I’d découpage it with some duck-egg coloured tissue paper.
I had bought a papier-mache tray from Hobbycraft and thought the two could be decorated similarly and made into a dressing table set (I’m soon to get an old school desk for a dressing table – it’s currently in the shed having leg extentions… a child’s school desk and an adult chair does not quite work!).

So here’s my mirror and tray…

Firstly I painted both with white acrylic paint.

Tore up the tissue paper into little bits… then started sticking them on, used PVA glue to stick and then to brush over the top of the paper.

Allowed to dry and then stuck little wooden birds (this link takes you to wooden butterflies, I can’t find the birds on their site at the moment) in the bottom left hand corner of the mirror and in a corner of the tray.
These little birds were coloured with a Pentel Gold marker pen, they almost look like metal birds now.

I had run out of tissue paper but decided that my old book shelves were just too dark for the bedroom (I’d covered them in sticky fabric too- see a previous blog post).

So I got some pale blue gingham pattern paper napkins from Poundland and stuck them on (I just used the top sheet and ripped into strips, stuck on with PVA and again painted the PVA over the top)
I lined the little shelves with various blue papers and coloured the shelf edges and the legs in the gold Pentel pen.

Finally I drew some gold branches on the side and stuck the rest of my gold birds on the branches.

 

Well, I’m happy! I can see that I should have torn the napkin paper into smaller pieces – but it’s a very long bookcase, I got a bit impatient. Lesson learned though.

Back soon with more arting&crafting
Love, Rosie

 

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

