Large Fretwork Top Box

This week’s blog is about another storage box from The Works, you can see what other folk do with the lovely wooden craft supplies from the Works at their own blog and what a lovely box this is.


It’s large and has a beautiful fretwork top.
I decided that this box would be decorated simply, in just black and gold. Sometimes keeping to a limited palette is good.

Here’s what I did…
First of all I painted the inside with gold acrylic paint

I sponged the gold paint on the wooden fretwork.(I just cut up a little washing up sponge and used a small cube)

Then the outside was painted in black acrylic…as the fretwork has been stuck on the glass in the inside of the box and is all sealed in the lid frame, I did not feel I could dismantle this box.
I used a black ‘outline’ liquid to draw around the fretwork shapes.

I allowed this to dry over night.

Then I used a gold Pentel marker pen and ‘coloured in’ the parts of the fretwork wood on the glass side.. hope these pictures shows you what I mean clearly enough…

I then used a gold ‘outline’ liquid (from Poundland again) and scribbled over the gold marker, (this just added a bit of texture to the gold area) I also sponged a bit of the gold acrylic paint on the clear areas (see pic 2 below) .

and that, is it completed.
Now, what shall I keep in this box…maybe I should fill with a variety of tea and gift it to someone?

thanks for reading.

I’ve had an idea what to do with this box!

I have some Poundland LED lights, if you haven’t already tried these you definately should, the batteries last for weeks and weeks.

2016-06-26 16.25.30

So, I cut some ridges in the wooden sections:
2016-06-26 16.26.53
Then I threaded the lights around the box, stuck the battery holder in the last box
2016-06-26 16.35.49

and voila!

2016-06-26 16.36.35

What do you think?

back soon
love
Rosie

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Large Fretwork Top Box

  1. Pingback: Mini-drawer Tower | rosiesartsandcrafts

Leave a Reply

