When I look out (of) my window…

I’ve had the day off from work today, Wednesday 27 June,  the weather was not great so I decided to spend sometime drawing… I sat at the dining table which faces the opposite direction to my desk and looked around for inspiration…and that’s when I looked out of my window (always loved Donovan!) and noticed that there is a gap in the flowering of the plants.

My house (in South Greater London, England) is in a bit of a hollow and the front garden is higher than the house (it’s a bungalow!).
The view from the window is completely ‘garden’ there is no sky to be seen.

We only moved here a few years ago, the house needed lots of renovation but the garden has the basis of a very well designed plan.
As we’ve cut back the weeds we have discovered many walls and decorative stones, as well as an almost complete calendar of flowering plants.
There are a few wild geraniums in pretty pink at the moment but that’s it. It’s actually all green. That’s what you get with constant rain for a month!
2016-06-29 10.00.00

So, that’s what I have drawn…the view through my window.

I used a watercolour paper, about A4 size. I sketched with pencil first.

2016-06-29 10.01.51

Then inked in, using a drawing pen

I decided to include the items sitting on the window cill… once drawn in I used water-soluble colouring pencils and coloured it in…

and this is the end result.

I did draw the leaded lights lines on with a silver pen but it doesn’t show up.
Finished picture… through my window picture

I was inspired to do this drawing after looking a another’s blog post, featuring a lovely painting of a jar of butterscotch sweets…it made me think, you can never say you haven’t got anything to draw – just look in front you!
This has also brought to mind a recent exhibition at the Chelsea Physic Garden by the Florilegium Society, just take a look at the truely inspiring drawings of dandelions and nettles on their web page… even if you have nothing growing in your garden you can usually find a nettle or two!

Well, it’s still raining, so I think I will start something else this afternoon,

Back soon, thanks for reading,
love Rosie

Save

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

