Taking a sewing class…

This week I have had a lovely break from work with a great friend in a gorgeous part of the world, Ipswich, Suffolk.

Through my friend Tracy, I have met the lovely Gillian, who is a skilled quilter and patchwork artist extraordinaire!

Now, I am the first person to admit that I am not a ‘neat’ person, and while I love patchwork and needlework I have my own ways, often cutting ‘by eye’ and rarely measuring… well that all changed on Wednesday when Tracy and I attended a sewing class held by Gillian!
Check out the website, you may like to try one too!

Tracy decided to make some bunting and I was given a few items to look through and decide what I wanted to do, I chose a pin cushion  with thread catcher attached and then afterwards had time left to do a little bunting myself – little owls!

I’m not showing how we did it – you need Gillian’s expertise for that!

But here are my efforts. I have to say that it was a really enjoyable day, we were all in deep concentration but had time for a cuppa or two and a few (quite a few!) giggles along the way.

and hung up…
P1090320

and here’s my lovely pin cushion and thread catcher…. and yes, I know, the notes are upside down.. I stupidly concentrated so hard on making my square bottom to my thread catcher than I forgot to check which was the bottom!
Well, that’s a good reason to make another!

and here it is ready to use… just need to get my own sewing machine working again now!
P1090323

and if you do decide to attend a class…..tell Gillian you heard about them from me!

Back soon
love Rosie

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Patchwork, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking a sewing class…

  1. Pingback: Patchwork skirt…. | rosiesartsandcrafts

  2. Pingback: Patchwork Bedspread… | rosiesartsandcrafts

Leave a Reply

