Poems on plates & napkins

My regular blog readers may recall a recent plate drawing experiment which went terribly wrong…

On a day out with my sister which pulled in Ikea and Hobbycraft, I purchased a new pen!
2016-06-05 10.31.53
This one is especially for writing on porcelain and is lovely.
Whilst in Ikea I also saw some fabric pens, I already have some Sharpie fabric pens (but the colours are so bright, I wanted to see if I could find something more subtle, haven’t tried that here but will do so soon) and I own various fabric paints by Pebeo and Dylon, but these from Ikea were only a couple of pounds so I thought I’d try them.
P1090201

Here’s what I did…
Remember those plates I painted before? Well, I’m using them again!
I bought a book from a local library sale and it has been 30p well spent!
It’s called ‘Oxfords “A Packet of Poems” Poems about food freshly picked by Jill Bennett and garnished by Paddy Mounter’.

There are some very good and funny poems that I have used many times for cards.
My mother was often reciting ‘The story of Augustus who would not have any soup‘ by Heinrich Hoffman to us as children.
So although it’s long, I wanted to put that on a plate, the other two plates I found short sayings/jokes from the internet and did a little sketch.

Once complete, I baked the plates in the oven to ‘fix’ the design.

Now for some napkins to compliment! This time I have used the black fabric pen from Ikea and the poem book for suitable foodie rhymes… The ink is ‘fixed’ on these with an iron.

Pretty silly, but dinner parties don’t have to be sensible do they?

Here’s the plates and napkins together…

Right, now whats for dinner…
Back soon, thanks for reading,
Love Rosie

 

 

Save

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Eating, fabric painting, poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

