Tree Box

A recent week off work gave me plenty of time to be creative. But we did have a couple of days out and one was to a most amazing place, if you ever visit Surrey, England it should definately be on your list of places to visit.
The place is Watts Artist Village. One of exhibits was of lino cutting. I’ve always liked the idea of this craft and though I bought the cutters years ago I’ve never actually done it.
However I was inspired by a few of the artists, Gail Brodholt and Lisa Takahashi especially stood out to me, as well as the wonderful tree images of Richard Shimell.

No prizes for guessing which of the artists designs came to mind when looking at a little blank box… (the rectangular one I used is out of stock at The Works currently but they do have a nice square one and lots of other styles)
This is what I did:-

P1090487

The basic tree shape with a purple felt pen, then I added smaller branches with a pink felt pen…
P1090488

Then I added some purple hills and a pink sky.
I then added some leaf motifs around the edge of the box. Then  I decided they were too fussy and went over the whole thing with gold acrylic paint!

The inside has been coloured with a purple felt pen and then I am drawing leaves on top, the effect will be quite subtle.

and that was that, it’s quite interesting to keep to a restricted palette, but of course you could do this kind of thing in anything you like, would even be good in just black.

Back soon,
love Rosie

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Boxes, Drawing, sketching, Uncategorized, Wooden crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

