Bedroom Chair

Yesterday I had the best day, my daughter and I visited The Handmade Fair if you are interested in crafting it’s the place for you!
After many years of attending craft fairs both as stall holder in the 1980/90’s and as visitor I was incredibly impressed with the variety of craft stalls and the fact they mostly really were ‘handmade’ stalls. A real treat of a day out.

So, as to this weeks blog post, I was lying in bed pondering which of my ‘makes’ to write about and noticed I was looking at my slightly wacky bedroom chair…..

This chair has been in the family a long time, it was a study chair for some years then moved into the nursery, then became my daughters chair in her everso pink bedroom. It’s had stickers over it, ribbon wrapped all over (that was a surprise upcycle when my daughter was at uni) and now… she’s got her own home…. the chair is still here….I’ve got a little old school desk for a dressing table and the chair is back with me.

I decided to do some decopage on it and it stayed like that while the house was in a complete muddle. The decoupage was not a great success… some of the paper/card I’d used was too stiff and was quite scratchy.
So I decided to rub it down,  as I did so it became quite ‘shabby chic’                      4 and I decided I liked it. I added some gold acrylic paint on the bits where I cleared the paper… and the final touch was finding a lovely embroidered humming bird cushion cover in Matalan which I’m afraid I cut up and used to cover the seat pad. 3
I really enjoy ‘upcycling’ ‘changing’ just making items of furniture your own, do you?
I look around my sitting room whilst doing this and  notice all the little ‘changes’ we’ve made to so much of our home!

Thanks for reading… here’s a few more pictures of my chair, (it also appeared on my instagram).

As you can see I also hung a vintage style metal pear and stuck on some bird transfers which were left over from my chest of drawers. ..

Back soon,
Love Rosie
x

 

Save

Save

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, chair, decoupage, Uncategorized, upcycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

