Baby Bunting

Hi!

Lucky me, I’m off to visit a new baby next week, perfect excuse to make some bunting as a gift!

I’ve already made some similar for a little girl Lucy and I’m revisiting the idea of using buttons to spell out the name of this little baby.

Luckily his name ‘Blake’ has 5 letters… perfect amount of little flags for a nursery.

a This is how I plan the letters, the card is the size of my bunting flags and I just draw the letters on top of each other to ensure the correct amount of buttons are used.

I bought a fat quarter pack from Hobbycraft, I’ve been advised that the nursery decor is blue and white … so I am using blue and white polka dots as my main material.

Once the letters were organised and the buttons (craft stores sell these in large packs) chosen I drew each letter on the material (this could be traced) and then I ran a line of UHU glue around, stuck the buttons on and allowed to dry overnight. Once dry I stitched the buttons on.
These are going in a nursery so no chances can be taken with little buttons. I’m sure the stitching would suffice but the glue gives peace of mind.

Once the buttons are glued and sewn on, I chose a contrasting fabric back and sewed right sides together.
Turn, and get the point as good as possible then press, carefully around the buttons!

Finally take a little time to pin the flags in place on the tape or ribbon, I decided to use the same colour on the back of each one and so turned in the corners so it could be seen and therefore add some continunity to the design, I used a bright yellow ribbon. Then stitch along the ribbon or tape catching each flag between. Once done…either leave loose to tie or add a ring to enable the bunting to be hung.

If you’d like more detailed photos of what I did please click on ‘Lucy’ above, that blog had a very detailed picture explanation of what to do and it was very similiar to this one. Except this is smaller.

Nice fun little project and hopefully a good gift.

Back soon,
Love Rosie

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Baby, Bunting, Buttons, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

