Fairy Doors

Hi there,

I’m suggesting these doors could be used as Advent Calendars, a little gift or chocolate placed behind the door each day in the run up to the big day, after making my daughter various advent calendars over the years and struggling to find bits to fit in little pockets and drawers etc I’m thinking this would be a great idea … (might do it for myself, one of the joys of being forgetful, I may even surprise myself some days!)
as I’ve made a few I’ve decided they deserve a post.

These doors are from The Works, I love them, can you tell? I’ve painted and decorated quite a few now, with Christmas on its way I have gone ever so slightly bonkers….

First of all I painted them all in various colours, front and back and let them dry over night.

Then I started to paint, some had stones added around the door, others had holly and ivy growing around the door. Then I started to create some bits n’ bobs to stick on them…

The holly is felt with red gemstone berries, the toadstools are felt with white gemstones, painted stalks and then felt grass, the jacket is made from felt – it’s just for show!

The buttons are yellow gemstones and the candle on the little shelf is wrapped in red felt, the flame is a cotton bud painted and glittered.
The tree is of course felt, the parcel base is a wooden cut out from The Works , the tree is decorated with gemstones.

In the photos above you can see I added a bell to the holly wreath and tied it on with red ribbon, the middle image shows the glittery greenery around the door and a little ladybird (this is a notice board pin) and finally the last photo shows the whole inside of one with a paper-chain type decoration which was done with gel, little paper cards are stuck on the wall, another candle, a very decorated tree and this time a hat – complete with a bell of course!
Lots of magical glittery fairy dust everywhere!

After realising that these were totally unsuitable for children to play with I decided to just paint some doors…

They’ve all been painted with child friendly clear glitter paint so there’s still plenty of magical fairy dust.

I’m selling them from my Etsy shop.
Thanks for looking,

Back soon,
Rosie

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in 25 December, Advent, Christmas, Drawing, Fairy Door, Hand-Decorated, Hand-Painted, Uncategorized, Wooden crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

