Patchwork skirt….

Yes this is all about a patchwork skirt or three…

I really don’t know why I started to make these, it started when I was given a bag of fabric and had a bad back which prevented me from moving,which meant I could not get to work but did not stop me sewing or drawing!

I’ve always loved the idea of patchwork and have tried to do it properly but I am really too messy to obtain the precision and neatness which it often requires… so if you’re a skilled patchworker read no further!

So if you’re still reading and want to see what I did…

I measured a straight skirt I had and made a rectangle of patches which measured the same, i.e the depth from waist to knee and the length to go around the body and not be so tight you can’t move. I sewed the bits together with straight sewing stick but topped stitched with the various stiches my machine has.

The edges are hemmed, the ends joined so you have a tube, elastic popped in the top and hey presto…

Here’s the first one I made, mostly blues, with bits of ribbon and velvet ribbon added here and there, the top is a wide band of blue with top stitching to add patchy detail style:-

 

Then this one, I had a top with these lovely butterflies on it, which I loved but it didn’t love me… I looked awful in it.
So I decided to do another patchy skirt and this time add some appliqué. I’ve only just finished this skirt and it had it’s first outing this week:-

and now for my latest one… my sister recently visited an Aldi store and they had craft items for sale, she kindly asked me if I wanted anything… well what a question!
One of the items was a fat-quarter pack of Christmas fabric. I added some Christmassy ribbon which I bought in Tiger
yes…. I have a Christmas outfit prepared…

Have you stopped laughing at me? I know it’s mad but I’ll be wearing it!

Well that’s it for now.

Back soon
Love Rosie

 

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Christmas, making clothes, Patchwork, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

