Dragonfly Drawers

P1090347 Here I go again… decorating little wooden drawers from The Works.co.uk with felt-tip pens.
It’s a nice way to colour them, it stops the wood getting really wet with paint and expanding.. a great pain with drawers, as I found out when I painted a set of nice drawers previously, see the part of that blog when I try to get the drawers out after painting a design across the drawers to feel my pain!

So, I decided to draw a dragonfly on these, my reason for a dragonfly, well I could say it’s because I am lucky to have a lovely little garden pond so near my desk, or confess the truth and say that I fell in love with the whole idea of putting the image of a dragonfly on anything  because of the Gilmore Girls

Well, confession time over, this is what I did to these little drawers…

I coloured the front in a light green felt-tip pen, then drew on the dragonfly and flower, then coloured in the dragonfly’s body and the flower stems and leaves.

After that I coloured in his wings with a white marker pen, then went over with a silver thin pen, then finally decided on the 3D liquid to give definition to his wings. I just couldn’t get them right.. but the layers have added a real sense of depth!

I ‘scribbled’ over the whole box and fronts of drawers with the thin silver pen. Then covered the whole lot in the clear glitter paint.

Coloured the drawer knobs in silver with a Pentel silver marker pen.Also went around the tops of the drawers and around the wooden front around the drawers.

I love these drawers, I have already stuck two together for a jewellery box for myself, for a  and also have done one for a friend, I’ve just bought 8 more so there are still  lots more to decorate!

P1090369

And that’s them done…
Anyway, I’ll be back next week with more artycrafting.

Love Rosie

Save

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Boxes, dragonfly, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

