Are artycrafty folk happier….

I’ve always been known for not really letting things get to me, and colleagues refer to me residing in ‘Rosie’s World’ *.
This blog was started last January as  a ‘New Years Resolution to get back into the world of arts and crafts’ and what a year it’s been, I’ve loved everything I’ve blogged about.

This morning I read a short article in Liz Earle Wellbeing Winter Magazine
” Take a break
If you needed an extra excuse to make your own Christmas cards and decorations this year, you’ll be pleased to know that indulging your creative side has been shown to have a positive effect on happiness levels, productivity and even digestion. When we’re engaged in a creative task, we temporarily forget about stress or negative thoughts. So get out the scissors, glue and glitter – and boost your wellbeing!”

I remembered that I was planning to think about that just that, and so here’s my last blog of the year.
But I’ll be back in 2017 – there’s no stopping me now.

I like to imagine life could be as an Enid Blyton novel – one with magical lands, excitement and with the baddies getting their comeuppance… how irritating I must be to my more realistic friends!
After coping through life’s ups and downs over the years,  recent life has taken its toil. I wonder if the fact that we were totally renovating our house and so I couldn’t do a lot of drawing or crafting to busy my mind, added to the fact that life had just been a bit too much.

So, time to get myself sorted out.

After starting this blog and becoming so much more creative again I am feeling more myself and recently my husband said I looked so much better and more like I used to.
He said my face had fallen before as if I was literally ‘down‘.

So, I thought I’d try to find out…. does being creative really help with your general well-being? :):
A long time ago I watched a friend ‘cutting out’ some paper shapes, she was completely absorbed and had a lovely soppy expression.When we remarked on this  – she said was completely absorbed and ridiculously happy.

             
Is it that doing something which occupies your eyes, brain and hands, means you have to totally concentrate on what you’re doing, thus leaving no spare capacity for worrying about anything else?

“Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” — Pablo Picasso.
This quote was used in a really interesting article on the mental health benefits of Art.

https://i0.wp.com/yiaelxzosjw9p4bs.zippykid.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/laughing1.jpg

 

I do watch television, I love loads of programs but if I had to choose between TV and radio; I’d pick radio. I find myself listening to it all the time.
If I’m writing then I like music mostly BBC6music or BBCRadio2  but if I’m crafting then I like BBC Radio London and Radio4extra.
I love the plays, the vintage dramas and the silly comedy programs, and all the time they are on I will be making something or drawing or painting a jewellery box or something… happy times.

Image result for drawing a picture clipart
I rarely watch real life programs  unless they are uplifting, I like fiction (you should see my bookshelves, they are full of fictional stories and most are rather lovely…don’t come around looking for any horror here!) and I like happy endings and lots and lots of laughs along the way please see * above.

 

Well, I’ll be back next year with more of my arty crafty makes… let me know what you think if you’ve tried crafts just to make yourself feel better.
Of course the current biggest craze for all is colouring in for grown ups. You can buy books or draw your own .

All the best for the new year
love Rosie

P.S Please note all photos in this post belong to their respective linked sites.The picture at the very top of the page is from an early blog, link here.

 

 

 

Save

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in crafting, Health, Thoughts on crafting, Uncategorized, wellbeing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are artycrafty folk happier….

  1. Pingback: Calligraphy… | rosiesartsandcrafts

Leave a Reply

