The Littleton Family…

My daughters dollshouse has some little people who have no change of clothes… dressmaking at 1/12th scale is good fun, the models don’t mind if you accidentally stab them with a pin or sewing needle and …best of all…you can use felt.
These people aren’t planning on getting wet, their clothes won’t shrink in the wash… (because they won’t get washed!)
Well,  the handyman required new clothes…you see after he married the maid and started working at the Littleton’s home he needed some work clothes… his wedding outfit was a tad too snazzy to work in….
Interested?  The Littleton’s Family Story

So here’s what I did…
This is our handyman in his wedding finery:-
img_1560Once he started working he realised he needed some work clothes, I decided that he could have a brown felt short jacket and a white apron.
I measured him and then cut a basic jacket shape on a fold…

The joy of using felt is that it doesn’t fray so you don’t need to hem all the edges, just cut the shape and sew together..
img_1578I was lucky and found I had some sewing thread that was the same colour. I sewed the side seams and sleeves. I decided he could have turned up cuffs to add interest. I put my finger through the sleeve and stitched it around in a simple running stitch. img_1584

Then I got him to try the jacket on, and once it was on I stitched a couple of buttons to the front and a pocket flap and it was done.

I wrapped a bit of white felt around his neck and sewed it to a little piece on his chest.. and cuffs similarly,  he’s not planning on taking his jacket off so no-one will know his shirt isn’t real!

Now for his apron..

He’s ready for work….
and this is how he looks on Instagram:-

IMG_1620.JPG
Thanks for reading,

Back soon,
Love Rosie

 

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in 1/12th scale, clothes making, crafting, Dollshouse, fabric, gardening, Hand-made, Handyman, Instagram, making clothes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Littleton Family…

  1. Pingback: Felted Dog…. | rosiesartsandcrafts

  2. Pingback: Mini books…. | rosiesartsandcrafts

Leave a Reply

