Homer the Hedgehog

Many years ago I used to have a stall at local craft fairs and I sold greetings cards which I had drawn flowers, I had them copied on to card and then I  hand painted each one individually…. well I love colouring in!
I used to sit at the stall and paint too, it was great fun.

After a while I started to expand my repertoire and started drawing woodland animals, I used these for Christmas cards and left them black and white but coloured in a stocking hanging from a tree.

I then started focusing on hedgehogs and moved away from the realistic and started dressing them, they played sports, were photographers, got married and had their offspring Christened.
From seeing all these my Mum got inspired and wrote a poem about a hedgehog.

I then wrote this poem in my best handwriting and drew a little hedgehog at the bottom and sold copies at these fairs.

I thought I might be able to get the poem published and sent off a copy with a few drawings to many publishers to no avail of course, I didn’t go so far as getting an agent and so the idea was shelved.

With the advent of photobooks I realised that I could create my own book and now my Mum has her own copy – with her name in nice big print font on the front cover. (I get a mention as the illustrator of course). She has even had people asking for a copy!

So, here for your pleasure (I hope) is the story of:-

Homer the Hedgehoghomer001
by Shirley Parker

Homer the Hedgehog small and brown Homer012.jpg

Left the country to live in town
He had heard the streets were made of gold
homer004But, Homer found them very cold.

No grass and roots for him to chew,
He did not know, what he could do. homer005

He missed his Mum, he missed his Dad,
homer006Poor Homer felt so very sad.

 

He wandered through the streets alone.
Looking for a cosy home.  homer007
The cars and buses rushing by
homer008Made poor Homer sit and cry

He should have listened to his Dad
And not been such a silly lad, homer009

homer010To leave his lovely country home
And set out on his own to roam.

So after all is said and done,
A hedgehog’s place is with his Mum.homer011
Now back in the country,
Away from the town,
Is Homer the Hedgehog, small and brown.

The End
homer012

Thanks for reading, hope you enjoyed that… there is a sequel, which I will share one day soon.,
love Rosie

 

 

 

Copyright Shirley Parker

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Book, Drawing, Hand-drawn, Hedgehog, poetry, sketching, Uncategorized, water-colour and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

