Teeny Tiny Whittling…

You may or may not have picked up on the fact that my new Instagram account is taking over my life little by little… The Littleton family who reside in the dollshouse which belongs to my daughter but is still here in my home have ups and downs in their family life and one of the more recent story lines has been about music.. in particular a harp.

I used the harp as that was something my daughter already had in her dollshouse.
In my story the harpist falls on hard times and has nowhere to store her instument, the life of the musician has never been easy!

So, the Littleton’s offer to house the harp and the harpist offers free lessons in return.
But the harp is too big for the little girl and causes her some discomfort so a new musical instrument needs to be found as she is showing some talent in that direction.

Luckily Mr Littleton is quick off the mark and buys a recorder, some instructions and a handy satchel to carry it all in… and so todays blog is how I made these little items.

Once I had decided to make a recorder I had to think what I could use… luckily I found some of those sticks you can put in airfresheners.

IMG_2143
I had some new blades for my scalpal knife and off I started to take off the bits that did not look like  a recorder… basics for carving/sculpting isn’t it?
I did a little sketch. First of all I shaped the mouth piece and then just tried to give it a little bit of shape.

I used the tip of the knife to hollow out the mouthpiece and hole at the  bottom a little, and then used a pin to make the holes for the note holes, I added a little pen to allow them to show up..

Luckily this recorder is really really tiny so artistic licence could be used… I then drew the music books on thick paper and sewed the little bag from brown felt with a little bead for the fastener. Here they are all finished … img_2148.jpg
Here’s little Miss Littleton with her new recorder…IMG_2168

Thanks for reading, hope you like the Littletons if you decide to read them too!
Back soon,
love Rosie

 

Save

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in 1/12th scale, Arts & crafts, crafting, Doll, Dollshouse, Hand-made, Miniatures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teeny Tiny Whittling…

  1. notewords says:

    Charming! I love the music books. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

