Butterfly bunting

2016-03-15 10.27.03 A couple of years ago I went quite bonkers about bunting and made absolutely loads 11889626_10153230458148558_6550924493351528325_n

I was talking about this madness with a friend who said she had a new summer house and wondered if she could get bunting in different shapes, I said I’d make some butterfly shaped bunting and I got started….my machine broke and what with all the house renovations and doing loads of other crafts the bunting got put to the back of the cupboard.

Once I had my machine fixed I couldn’t find the butterfly half made bunting…. finally I did it and although I lost it again in the final part of the house renovation it has finally been given to my friend!

I’d like to do some more – I’m not sure it was the best ever bunting, the yellow thread is ‘glow in the dark’ which seemed a good idea at the time….

Since making that I have made some owl shaped bunting in a sewing class and I think I will revisit the butterfly idea again soon.

So I cut out some butterfly shapes – big little and a folded wing one, I just drew freehand but if that’s not your style there are plenty of outlines online.

I stuck the butterflys to an interfacing and then sewed them together with a ‘glow in the dark’ thread.

2016-01-31 12.42.26

I then sewed some bias binding and just caught the top of the wings.

Thanks for reading, I’ve been quite brief if you want anymore information please just message me.
Back soon,
Love Rosie

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Bunting, Butterfly, crafting, Drawing, fabric, Hand-drawn, Hand-made, Homemade, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

