Drawing on napkins…

For a recent birthday I received some little bird ornaments…there is a little story about these. My sister and I visited a Christmas Ideal Home Show and the very first stall had some lovely decorations which included some pears which were decorated the same way these birds are. I was going to get one but my sister advised against buying from the very first stall and suggested we look around first, sound advice you may agree but that stall vanished into thin air…and I did not get my pear.  My sister then ordered some online and I was presented with 8 of these lovely pears!

My little house being surrounded by trees has led me to have a bit of a bird theme and I was very happy to receive these gorgeous birds…but, I didn’t really know what to do with them. I considered tying them to drawer pulls but they are quite clanky for that. So they’ve been sitting in a drawer awaiting inspiration.

Today I purchased a pack of 4 linen napkins from Laura Ashley (on sale!) and as I have had a day off work I decided to sit in the garden and decorate them with my fabric pens. As  I thought about what to do, I had a flash of inspiration, trotted off to find the birds, with the intention of drawing the birds on the cloth. Once I saw them though I decided to use just the design on the birds and use the birds as napkin rings. Here’s what I did….

Here’s the first one:-

The next one:-

Number 3:-

and the last one:-

Well, I had a lovely afternoon doing these drawings, sometimes when life just gets in the way I find you need to switch off, my chosen way is to doodle… oh I pressed them when done and now I’m ready for my next dinner party.

Back soon, love Rosie

 

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Arts & crafts, Birds, crafting, Drawing, Eating, fabric, fabric painting, Flower, Hand-Decorated, Hand-drawn, Hand-Painted, pattern, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Drawing on napkins…

  1. janonlife says:

    They are lovely! I’d seen the photos on Instagram, but good to read the backstory!

    Like

    • Thank you so much, I get so involved with Instagram that this blog has taken a bit of a backwards step – so far I’ve kept to one a week though, thanks for looking!

      Liked by 1 person

      • janonlife says:

        The pleasure’s mine! Thanks for the follow, by the way. One of the problems with WordPress is that they will only allow you to have one ‘main’ blog. In my case that’s Looking at Life, which is my metaphysical ramblings. I also have a blog devoted to my steampunk miniatures, which is http://www.steampunk-shrunk.com . I suppose not many people have twin obsessions with metaphysics and miniatures! Anyhow, you’re very welcome at either site 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

