Forgotten skills….?

Last week I was making teeny playing cards, and building playing card castles for a little story line on my Instagram feed.

I put out the question “what next….?” and got a couple of good replies, one was dominoes – definately an easy game to make at 1/12th scale and I will be making that game, but another was “what about a hankerchief mouse…..?”

I looked this up on the trusty internet and there, as it seems there always are, were video clips of how to make a mouse from a hankerchief.

It was my sister Sally who had suggested it and she told me that when she was staying at our grandmother’s house one time she had forgotten her teddy.
Apparently I, always a sickly child, had been taken into hospital, she remembers our father dropping her off in a hurry and teddy had been forgotten.
So, my grandmother found a gentlemans hankerchief and created a white mouse for my sister to cuddle.
Sally confessed that she forgot teddy on purpose occasionally afterwards, so she would be made another hankerchief mouse by our lovely grandmother.

I haven’t made the one at dollshouse scale yet but here’s my effort at making one with a hankerchief. I’ll add the link so you can try it too!

IMG_4153 Firstly, lay down the hankerchief on a flat service and fold it diagonally.
IMG_4154 Then fold in the points – overlapping as shown.
IMG_4155

Now start rolling it up, nice and tightly…

 

IMG_4156
Next fold over the rolled up sausage,
over- lap the ends

 

Now keep rolling it round and around until you can poke your thumb through…

Now you can tease out the ends, one will be left – just give it a twist and the other tied to form the mouse ears and head… if your clever you make the mouse run up your arm!

Watch the clip here

Thanks for reading, I’m off the to spend the day drawing and sewing, will share next week,
love Rosie

About rosiesartsandcrafts

An avid arty crafty kind of person, I can never leave anything as it was intended, as you will come to see as I post my arty and crafty blogs which follow a self-imposed challenge to create something everyweek and blog about whatever I've done. I hope my work will inspire your own creations but please note that the text, pictures and artwork are ©rosiesartsandcrafts unless otherwise noted; all rights reserved. The content of this blog may not be copied or used without permission. Projects and layouts may not be copied for submission to contests, magazines, or other publications in any form. For questions or comments please email rosiemiddleton2@gmail.com
This entry was posted in 1/12th scale, cards, crafting, Dollshouse, Gran, Grandparent, hankerchief, hankerchief mouse, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

